top of page

The Little Red Hen

Updated: Mar 3, 2019


"Who wants to go grocery shopping with mama?"asked mom.


"Not I" said the little girl in pink.


"Who can help dad unload the groceries?" asked dad.


"Not I" said the little boy with brand new sneakers.


"Who will help put the groceries into the fridge?" asked mom.


"Not I" said the little girl with braids.


"Who wants dinner?" asked mom.


"ME!!!!!" said all of the children in unison.


"Who can help with

dishes?" called mom.


*Crickets*


It's the same ol' story. Everyone wants to eat. No one wants to do the work.


My kids are extremely food motivated. They ALL like to eat. But every time we roll up to the grocery store, they all start to moan and complain. They say things like; "NO! Not the grocery store!", "Ugh! Trader Joe's again?!", "We don't waaaaant to go grocery shopping!".


So my husband and I say things back like; "Do you like to eat?", "Would you like dinner tonight?", "If we don't go shopping now, there will be nothing to eat."


Still though, they complain. I mean, who really likes grocery shopping? I don't. But it has to get done. I know people who hire baby sitters so they can run to the grocery store. And there is nothing wrong with that. There's nothing like a peaceful shopping experience without kids.


But I take my kids with me. Not because I necessarily want to. It's partly because I have to and mainly to teach them the whole process of making meals-from start to finish. They are involved from helping put food into the cart, carrying grocery bags into the house, putting the food away into the fridge and pantry, setting the table, clearing their plates and sweeping under the table at the end of dinner. But I want them to be MORE involved.


I am currently working on a schedule to implement their involvement with prepping and cooking dinner. My goal is to have my oldest son to be responsible for one meal per week. His job will be to pick the meal, write the list of ingredients, help find the food in the store, help with the sales transaction (hand the cashier the debit card), help load the car, bring the groceries into the house and put them away, prep dinner, cook dinner, set the table, clear the table, wash the dishes and clean the dining room. A whole dinner from start to finish. I've done this once before with him and he was so proud of himself and made sure everyone knew he did it all himself. He ate dinner a bit slower that night. He appreciated every bite. He looked around to everyone at the table and made sure they liked it. Everyone thanked HIM for dinner and he sat a little taller that night.


Below are some pictures of my favorite meals I've made over the last couple of years.


What are your thoughts? Do your children help with dinner? If so, how old were they when they started cooking whole meals? I'd love to hear from you!


Linguine with tomato cream sauce, basil and parmesan.

One of my absolute FAVORITE meals to make; Penne pasta, Pesto, and shaved Parmesan. Super easy, super delicious.


Chicken cooked in garlic, white wine and herbs. Spinach salad with sunflower seeds, and cranberries. French baguette cooked on a grill pan in butter (heavenly). Fruit Salad.

Arugula and quinoa salad with roasted butternut squash, lemon dressing and shaved parmesan.


Chicken cooked in white wine, broth, butter, and herbs. Bow-tie pasta with homemade alfredo sauce and brocoli.




40 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page